Offaly Athletics Report (June 5)

All the latest from the county's track action

Killeigh 4 Mile

The Annual Killeigh 4 mile road race was run off on Saturday last. 181 runners covered the undulating course and also had very humid conditions to add to the challenge.This year the race is part of the Offaly Middle Distance road race series and also incorporated the Offaly Novice and Master championships. The race was won by Peter Somba (Dunboyne AC). Peter posted 19.58 with ease and smashed the course record into the bargain – 1st man to break 20 minutes. 2 nd was Ray Hynes (Donore Harriers) and 3rd Paul Mitchell (Tullamore Harriers). 1st Lady was Sinead Lambe(Donore Harriers) , 2 nd Laura McDonnell (Tallaght AC) and 3rd Nita McLoughlin (Tullamore Harriers).

The Offaly Novice and Masters road race Championship winners are here:

Novice Ladies; 1 st Nita McLoughlin(TH), 2 nd Martina McCarthy (TH), 3 rd Charlotte Abbott (TH)
O40: 1st Elysia McCormack(TH), 2 nd Catriona Daly (Ferbane AC), 3 rd Pauline Colgan (Naomh Mhuire)
O45: 1 st Dympna Fox(TH), 2 nd Mags Grennan (TH), 3 rd Elaine Cuskelly (Naomh Mhuire)
O50: 1 st Rita Daly(TH), 2 nd Mary Daly(TH), 3 rd Martina Conlon(TH)
O60: Kathleen Delaney (Birr AC)
Novice Men: 1 st Paul Mitchell (TH), 2 nd Jay Donegan(TH), 3 rd David Fox(TH)
O40: 1 st Jimmy Coughlan(Naomh Mhuire), 2 nd Barry Minnock (Rathfarnham AC), 3 rd Rory Farrell(TH)
O45: 1 st Darren Bermingham (NH), 2 nd Dave Dunican(TH), 3 rd Kevin Corrigan(TH)
O50: 1 st Brendan Donagher(NM), 2 nd Brendan Abbott(TH), 3 rd Martin Carroll(TH)
O60: 1 st Johnny Feery(TH), 2 nd Andy O’Grady(TH), 3 rd Jim Dolan(TH)

Ballyskenach 5km

The 5 th race of the Offaly Road Race series was hosted by Ballyskenach Athletic Club on Friday last. Despite glorious sunshine for the week leading up to the annual event , the sky was far from bright and heavy rain greeted the 300 athletes who gathered in the Roscrea Rugby grounds . The club must be commended on keeping the show on the road despite the atrocious weather. Before the senior race, the juveniles had their own competition on the rugby field. The winner of the 5k was Mick Fogarty , Ferbane AC, with Paul Mitchell(Tullamore Harriers) hot on his heels. 3 rd overall was Jay Donegan(TH). 1st lady was Siobhan O’Doherty (Borrisokane AC), 2nd Nadine Donegan (Tullamore Harriers) and 3rd Nita McLoughlin (Tullamore Harriers).

1st Junior Male – Conor Butler(Tullamore Harriers)
1st Junior Girl- Laura Murphy
1st o40 –Cyril Cuddy (Portlaoise AC) and Ursula O’Reilly (Naomh Mhuire)
1st o45- Darren Bermingham(Naomh Mhuire) and Dympna Fox (Tullamore Harriers)
1st o50- Brendan Donagher(Naomh Mhuire) and Rita Daly (Tullamore Harriers)
1st o60-Ger Woods (Banagher AC) and Mary Galvin
1st o70- Jim Langan (Tullamore Harriers)

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.