Birr goal rush seals Minor Camogie title

A wonderful performance

Justin Kelly


Justin Kelly


Birr 3-8 St.Cillians 0-8

Birr camogie club were crowned minor A champions after beating St. Cillians second time round in the minor A final replay.

It was Birr who set the pace early in the game with a Brooke Whelahan goal. St. Cillians got themselves back into the game with quick fire points from Claire Hogan and Dara Hanamy and again the sides couldn’t be separated. St. Cillians took a brief spell in front but a hard worked Birr attack meant at the half time break it was level 1-3 to 0-6.

Birr returned to the pitch the hungrier of the two teams and an early goal from Sarah Dooley pushed Birr into the lead and the red and green didn’t look back.

St. Cillians found it difficult to cope with the intensity Birr brought in the second half only managing to score two points in the second half while Birr racked up 2-5. Sharpshooter Ellen Regan dealt the final blow with Birr’s third goal of the game putting Birr into the driving seat. St.Cillians did work hard but scores were hard come by. 

Alanna Roddy was awarded the player of the match as she commanded the game and also added a point to her name. Both sides deserve great credit for their never say die attitude and producing two fantastic contests of camogie. 


Birr: Brooke Whelahan 1-0; Sarah Dooley 1-0; Ella Coughlan 0-1; Alanna Roddy 0-1; Sarah Harding 0-1; Ellen Regan 1-5; (3fs) 

St.Cillians: Claire Hogan 0-2; Dara Hanamy 0-6 (6f) 


Birr: Ciara Murtagh, Edel Hoare, Aoibhe Whelahan, Caoimhe Abbott, Doireann Errity, Alana Roddy, Niamh Campbell, Sarah Harding, Niamh Ryan, Caoimhe Dunne, Ella Coughlan, Ellen Reegan, Roisin Donovan, Brooke Whelahan, Sarah Dooley

Substitutes: Ella Feenane, Elaine Mullins, Lara Finnerty, Megan Kinsella, Trudy Feenane 

St.Cillians: Elaine Hanlon, Emma Harding, Orlaigh Plunkett, Kathy Fogarty, Aoife Hoctor, Shiofra Ryan, Niamh Costello, Ciara Brennan, Aoife Hogan, Orla Killeen, Dara Hanamy, Sarah Pingree, Sinead Bergin, Claire Hogan, Nicola Dolan

Substitutes: Ava Molloy, Jade O’Meara, Louise Bergin, Grace Cashen, Grace Hoare, Sinead Hoctor, Sarah Brophy

If you have a story for us, sports news, an event happening in your area, or if you want to submit pictures or videos, contact the Offaly Express team via email to, or through our Facebook.