Edenderry Fianna Fáil Cumann host AGM

There was a large crowd in attendance

Justin Kelly


Justin Kelly



The AGM of the Edenderry Fianna Fáil Cumann took place on Monday January 15 in O’ Donoghues lounge in the town. There was a capacity attendance of 90 people.

It is reported that this was the biggest ever attendance at an AGM in the history of the Cumann. On the night Cathal Tyrrell was elected unopposed when the outgoing Chairman Finian O'Neill did not let his name go forward for re-election.

Finian was thanked for his outstanding service to the Cumann over many years. Cathal in his address to the meeting spoke of how proud he was to take the Chair as his grandfather had founded the Cumann and his own father had been a prominent member of Fianna Fáil.

John Furey, who is the Cumann nominee for the upcoming Fianna Fáil Convention, which will select candidates to contest the next General Election, addressed the meeting and referred to the great work that was done in the last 12 months, which now sees over 175 members.

He thanked all involved in helping out at the Golf Classic and the Breakfast morning with Micheál Martin both of which were very successful. He stressed that membership is vital going forward. He asked for all to do a little to help out and support the Cumann and that we can achieve our overall goal which is to elect a local TD in North Offaly.

Cllrs Eddie Fitzpatrick and Noel Bourke both addressed the meeting and congratulated the new Committee, and stressed the importance of increasing representation at the local elections in 2019.

Fianna Fáil currently has two councillors in North Offaly. Barry Cowen TD, who was also in attendance, stressed the challenges facing the organisation with the new constituency of Laois-Offaly where five seats will be contested. Portarlington and Garryhinch have been long-standing areas lost to the Kildare South Constituency for the next election.

Cowen said Fianna Fáil need to target three seats in the next General Election. Also with Fianna Fáil back in power they would target reducing the Universal Social Charge.

Housing and roads are a priority for Fianna Fáil, he said. He also stressed that one of the main concerns that rural dwellers and businesses have is the lack of adequate broadband. He concluded by congratulating the new committee and offering his support to them going forward.

Other committee members elected on the night were: Vice Chairman, John Furey, Secretary, Fergal Swaine, Assistant Secretary, Maureen Whelan, Treasurer, Damien O’ Donoghue, Assistant Treasurer, Vince Seery and PRO, Robert Mc Dermott.

If you have a story for us, sports news, an event happening in your area, or if you want to submit pictures or videos, contact the Offaly Express team via email to justin.kelly@iconicnews.ie, or through our Facebook.