Historic win for MSL lads in All Ireland Final

The MSL won their first All Ireland title on Sunday against a strong Waterford side in the U-12 Cashin Cup Final. Waterford started the better playing with the breeze and had the majority of the play in the first half with the Waterford midfielders Cian Kinsella and Dean Beresford causing the midlanders problems with some accurate passing.

The first chance of the game fell to Ben Curham who saw his header hit the side netting. On18 minutes the MSL responded and cutting in from the right, Jack Owens saw his shot saved by Waterford keeper Luke O’Brien.

Just before the break a raking cross from Waterford’s Aidan Conway caused problems for MSL but it went wide and the teams were scorless at the break.

Almost the same as the semi final versus Donegal, the MSL came out in the second half and took the game to Waterford. Ciaran Burns was stopped by a splendid tackle by Leo O’Connor after a great run. Next was a spectacular overhead kick from Niall Dunne that dropped onto the roof of the net on 37 minutes.

The deadlock was finally broken on 47 minutes Jack Owens had a splendid run down the right wing and his cross was finished high up into the roof of the net from close in by Niall Dunne. The MSL had the momentum and it went to 2-0 on 53 minutes. Ciaran Burns cut infrom the left and from 20 yards out his shot squeezed in at the keeper’s right hand post . Andrew Swayne almost made it three with a volley from 25 yards out but a breathtaking leap saw Waterford keeper Luke O’Brien push it over the bar for a corner.

Waterford did not give up and the MSL defence was put under alot of pressure in the closing minutes of the game and just into injury-time Waterford’s Conor Whittle broke through but was denied a consolation goal by Gary Saunders when he shot from 10 yard out. When the final whistle was blown there were scenes of great excitement as the MSL won their first ever All Ireland title. Great credit is due to the managers Michael Burns and Anthony Hitchcock who have instilled a great team ethic in this group of lads at such a young age. Well done to all the members of the squad.

MSL: Gary Saunders (Portlaoise) Dermot Egan (Tullamore Twn) Sean Lynch (Portumna Twn) Cian Doyle (Emo Celtic) Sean Flynn (Emo Celtic) Pauric Cahill (Portlaoise) Stephn Dolan (Tullamore Twn) Ryan Dunne (Mountmellick Utd) Brian Maher (Tullamore Twn) Andrew Flynn (Emo Celtic) Mehmet Sinset (Tullamore Twn) Eoghan Brennan (Portlaoise) Conor O’Farrell ( Portlaoise) James Mullen (Tullamore Twn) Jonathan Wrafter ( Abbeyleix Ath) Dermot Brosnan (Portlaoise) Stephen Hitchcock (Portlaoise) Evan Power ( St Aengus) Andrew Swayne ( Portlaoise) Sam McCartan (Mullingar Ath) Niall Dunne (Emo Celtic capt) Jack Owens (Emo Celtic) Ciaran Burns (Tullamore Twn) Liam Fraiser (Portlaoise)

Gaynor Cup: The tournament is on next weekend in Limerick and best wishes to the girls and managment team .

MSL AGM: This was held in Tullamore and in attendance was SFAI General secretary Martin O’Hanlon. Officers elected Chairperson and PRO Chris Nestor, League Secretary Karl Bond Snr, Fixtures secretary and vice chairperson Liam Lennon assistant sectretary Rachel Healy, Treasurer Brendan McElligott. Registrar Derek Collins, ordinary member TJ Hughes




Back to the top of the page