Heartbreak for Derry Rovers as St Anne’s claim Mid-Leinster title

editorial image

editorial image

A strong second half display by the Laois side proved to the difference between the two teams in an entertaining final.

Mid Leinster U-16 Shield Final

Derry Rovers 0

St Annes 2

Derry Rovers started well and matched St Anne’s in midfield and defence but found clearcut chances hard to come by.

The first chance fell to St Anne’s on the break when a left wing cross from Andy McEvoy found Oisin Leonard unmarked in the Derry Rovers penalty area and it took a tremdous block from David Scott to stop an almost certain goal.

McEvoy again was the provider on 20 minutes when his cross found Jack Delaney who saw his header well saved by Stephen Jackson. This provoked a good responce from Derry Rovers and with Jamie O’Connor getting more into the game in midfield both Jack Lynch with a shot and Artis Zarnas–Pastors with a header went close to opening the scoring for the Offaly side however at the break it was still scoreless.

The game went St Anne’s way in the opening 12 minutes of the second half as they scored twice. The first came just two minutes in when a corner found Conor Behan unmarked at the back post and he shot home from close range. Ten minutes later and a great run and cross on the right by Dylan Waters again found Behan unmarked at the back post and he headed home.

A temendous double save on 62 minutes by Rovers ‘keeper Stephen Jackson saw the keeper injured and he was replaced by Pastors. St Anne’s needed a temendous save from Liam O’Dea to deny Stephen Osbourne as he raced onto a clearance but it was St Annes who finished stronger and won the inaugural U-15 Mid Leinster Shield.

Derry Rovers: Stephen Jackson, Curtis Fleming, David Scott, Jason Byrne, Brendan Lynch, Hakeen Goloba, Jordan Quinn, Artis Zarans-Pastors, Stephen Osbourne, Jack Lynch, Brandon Ward, Tristan Lynch, Matthew Beatty

St Annes: Liam O’Dea, Darragh Byrne, James Baldwin, Evan Phillips, Ciaran Lawlor, Andrew Baldwin, Conor Kealy, Conor Behan, Jack Delaney, Andy McEvoy, Oisin Leonard, Dylan Waters, Jack O’Neill, Kealan Gavaigan, Tomas Lacey, Jack Hickey, David Farrell




Back to the top of the page