IFA election moves into debate phase

IFA National Returning Officer Michael Keane has encouraged farmers to attend the Association’s election debates between candidates for the positions of President and Deputy President.

IFA National Returning Officer Michael Keane has encouraged farmers to attend the Association’s election debates between candidates for the positions of President and Deputy President.

Michael Keane said the 13 debates around the country are an opportunity for IFA’s 88,000 members to hear candidate presentations and to participate in an open forum discussion. “The IFA election is unique as it allows every member the chance to hear what candidates are offering, and then they have a vote in the national contest,” he stated.

The IFA Returning Officer said each of the 29 County Executives would be represented in the debates. South Leinster Vice-President Jer Bergin and Deputy President Eddie Downey are vying to become the 14th President of the Association.

Michael Keane also reminded farmers that the IFA electoral register closes to new members on Thursday, October 31st. To secure your vote, you should contact your local IFA office before the end of October. Voting in IFA’s 949 branches across the country will begin on Monday, December 2 and conclude on Friday, December 13. The National Count will take place in Dublin on Tuesday, December 17.

The schedule for the remaining debates is: Kilkenny/Carlow - Newpark Hotel, Thursday, October 31; Galway - Raheen Woods Hotel, Athenry, Monday, November 4; Offaly/Westmeath /Kildare/Laois/Dublin - Tullamore Court Hotel, Wednesday, November 6; Wexford/Wicklow - Farm Centre, Enniscorthy, Thursday, November 7

Mayo - Welcome Inn Hotel, Castlebar, Monday, November 11; Roscommon/Longford/Sligo/Leitrim - The Landmark Hotel, Carrick-on-Shannon, Tuesday, November 12; Cavan/Monaghan/Louth/Meath/Dublin - Errigal Country House Hotel, Cootehill, Thursday, November 14; Donegal - Clanree Hotel, Letterkenny, Monday, November 18. All meetings start at 8.30pm.